Regional Transportation Coordinating Councils (RTCCs)

The Minnesota Departments of Transportation and Human Services, in collaboration with other state agencies, are working with the Metropolitan Council and other local governments and organizations to create Regional Transportation Coordinating Councils as appropriate throughout Minnesota. Coordination between transportation providers and service agencies is a strategy that can help fill transportation gaps by providing more rides using the same or fewer resources, making transportation easier to use and giving customers more options of where and when to travel.

The agencies are providing support for creating a statewide framework of 8-10 Regional Transportation Coordinating Councils throughout Minnesota. The RTCCs will be responsible for coordinating transportation services through a network of existing public, private and non-profit transportation providers.

Greater Minnesota RTCC Organizational Planning Grants

In July 2018, the following organizations were awarded transportation planning funds from the MnDOT Office of Transit and Active Transportation to begin Phase 1 Organizational Planning efforts to create a Regional Transportation Coordinating Council (RTCC) within their regions.

  • Arrowhead Economic Opportunity Agency, Inc.
    (Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, Pine, and St. Louis — MACSSA Region 3)
  • East Central Regional Development Commission
    (Chisago, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, and Pine — MACSSA Region 7)
  • Headwaters Regional Development Commission
    (Beltrami, Clearwater, Hubbard, Lake of the Woods, and Mahnomen —
    MACSSA Region 2)
  • Mid-Minnesota Development Commission
    (Kandiyohi, McLeod, Meeker, Renville, and Sibley — MACSSA Region 6)
  • Northwestern Regional Development Commission
    (Kittson, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, and Roseau — MACSSA Region 1)
  • Region Five Development Commission
    (Cass, Crow Wing, Morrison, Todd, and Wadena — MACSSA Region 5)
  • St. Cloud Area Planning Organization (APO)
    (Benton, Sherburne, Steans, and Wright — MACSSA Region 7)
  • Three Rivers Community Action, Inc.
    (Goodhue, Olmsted, Rice, Wabasha, and Winona — MACSSA Region 10)
  • West Central Community Action, Inc.
    (Becker, Clay, Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilken — MACSSA Region 4)

Phase 1: 2018 Application for RTCC Organizational Planning Grant

The application for RTCC Organizational Planning Grants is available on the MnDOT Office of Transit and Active Transportation website. Eligible grant applicants include cities, counties, legislatively established transit commissions and authorities, regional development commissions and potential vendors.

Key Dates:

  • March 31, 2018: Phase 1 applications due
  • July 1, 2018: Phase 1 grants awarded
  • July 1, 2019: Phase 2 grant application period begins

If you have any questions regarding the RTCC Application, please contact Sue Siemers at 320-223-6556 or

RTCC Stakeholder Workshops

In 2015, participants throughout the state shared their perspectives on features to include a potential coordination council in their regions.

RTCC Pilot Programs

Dakota County is one of the early pilots of transportation coordinating councils in Minnesota.

More information

For more information about RTCCs in Minnesota, please contact:

Noel Shughart
Minnesota Department of Transportation
Office of Transit and Active Transportation